Faculty Council

Faculty Council

Each faculty at Maastricht University has a Faculty Council (FC). Functioning in virtually the same way as the University Council, these Councils keep the University Council informed of faculty affairs and serve as sparring partners and consultation bodies for the Faculty Boards and the dean.


The Faculty Council (FC) fulfils the same function for the individual faculty as the University Council does for the whole university. Its authority is comparable to that of the University Council insofar as it deals with issues that relate to its particular faculty. The FC consists of representatives of the academic staff, the administrative and support staff, and students. They are elected by and from their own sections for a period of two years, with the exception of students, who are elected for one year only.
The members of the FC convene together with the Faculty Board about once every four weeks. These meetings are open to all faculty staff and students, who can attend these meetings as auditors.

Right of say

The Faculty Councils (FC) have powers in various areas, including the right to give or withhold consent on the faculty regulations, parts of the Education and Examination Regulations, the guidelines for academic practice and internal policy documents in the areas of education, research and internationalisation. The FC also has the right to advise on matters such as the appointment of professors and the faculty budget.

Members of FHML Faculty Council 2019-2020

Emma Sanders
Iris van Lieshout
Juul Hennissen
Leanne van Eijsden

Members of FPN Faculty Council 2019-2020

Simon Depla
Nokhez Usama

More information about the Faculty Councils

More information about the Faculty Councils can be found via the following link:

FHML: https://www.maastrichtuniversity.nl/about-um/faculties/health-medicine-and-life-sciences/about-fhml/organisation

FPN: https://www.maastrichtuniversity.nl/about-um/faculties/psychology-and-neuroscience/about-fpn/organisational-structure#facultycouncil